Richard Hannay (Kevin Egelsky, left) meets Pamela (Annette Kaczanowski) aboard a train to Scotland while on the run from the police (Dave Kempher and Mike Honderich), in Elkhart Civic Theatre’s award-winning production of the comedy-thriller “The 39 Steps.”  The production won the Indiana Community Theatre Association  festival competition, and the regional American Association of Community Theatres festival in Midland, Michigan. (Photo supplied)

Civic Theatre Wins First at Regional Competition – on to National in June

in Front Page by

Elkhart Civic Theatre took top honors last weekend at the Region 3 AACTFest of the American Association of Community Theatres.

The 2014 ECT production of “The 39 Steps” was named Outstanding Ensemble and will represent the five-state region at the national festival in June.

In addition, Annette Kaczanowski was named Best Lead Actress for her “triple play” roles, an award she also received at the state festival. Michael Honderich and David Kempher shared the Best Supporting Actor award for their work as the multiple-character “clowns.” The excerpt also was recognized for Special Achievement in Props.

“The 39 Steps” was directed by David Dufour assisted by Randy Zonker. Kevin Egelsky was a nominee for Best Lead Man. Garry Cobbum was nominated for Best Sound Design.

ECT shares the Outstanding Ensemble title with another Indiana civic group, Kokomo Civic Theatre, which presented a two-character excerpt from “Freud’s Last Session.”

The Hoosier groups competed against community theaters from Illinois, Michigan, Ohio and Wisconsin during the event April 16-19 in Midland, Mich.

The national competition will be June 23-27 in Grand Rapids. ECT will perform June 24 and Kokomo, June 25 .

The 1935 Hitchcock spy thriller, “The 39 Steps” was first produced by Elkhart Civic Theatre at the Bristol Opera House last May, where ECT holds its mainstage performances.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.